Previous   Next
HomeSportsTable Tennis: Manika and Archana Win Women's Doubles Crown

Table Tennis: Manika and Archana Win Women’s Doubles Crown

Indian pair of Manika Batra and Archana Girish Kamath win the women’s doubles title in the WTT Contender tournament in Lasko on Sunday.

Manika and Archana defeated the Puerto Rican team of Melanie Diaz and Adriana Diaz in straight sets by 11-3, 11-8, 12-10.

The Indian duo was on top of its game from the beginning. Manika and Archana seldom had any problem in the first game as they established a healthy lead. The second game was on equal terms till 7-7 before Manika’s forehand and under-spin backhand serves backed by Archana’s quickness helped the team sail through.

The Puerto Rican sisters finally showed up in the third game with Melanie serving well and attacking with aplomb while Adriana played second fiddle. Melanie and Adriana had three-game points at 10-7, but Manika and Archana won five points on the trot to win their first crown as a pair.

Manika Batra and Archana Girish Kamath entered the finals of the women’s doubles event of the WTT Contender tournament after defeating the team of Wang Yidi and Liu Weishan by 11-6, 8-11, 11-6, 5-11, 11-8 in the semi-finals.

More News

Olympian Deepak Punia Wins Bronze In Asian Wrestling Championships 2022

Tokyo Olympian Deepak Punia won a bronze medal after defeating Maksat Satybaldy in the 86kg freestyle weight category at the U23 Asian wrestling championships...

Rajat Kapoor And Mallika Sherawat Starrer ‘RK/Rkay’ Is All Set To Release On July 22

Actor-filmmaker Rajat Kapoor’s upcoming film ‘RK/Rkay’ starring Mallika Sherawat and Kubbra Sait is all set to release on July 22. The film tells the tale...

Sensex Rises 433 Points, Nifty Settles At 15,832

The Benchmark indices ended higher for the third straight session on June 27 with Nifty above 15800 amid buying across the sectors. At close, the...


India Gains Two Places In FIFA Rankings

The Indian men’s senior national football team reaped rewards after their stellar Asian Cup qualification as they advanced two places up from 106th to...

Ranji Trophy Final: Madhya Pradesh Trailing Mumbai by 251 runs

Yash Dubey (44 not out) and Shubham Sharma (41 not out) added 76 runs off 147 balls for the second wicket as they carried...

Sportspersons Celebrate International Yoga Day With PM Modi And Prez Kovind

The Honourable Prime Minister of India, Mr Narendra Modi participated in the yoga day celebrations in Mysore in a drive titled ‘yoga for humanity. The...