Previous   Next
HomePoliticsCongress Releases First List of Candidates For UP Assembly Polls

Congress Releases First List of Candidates For UP Assembly Polls

The Congress party on Thursday released the first list of candidates for the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections, which will begin on February 10. The party has given substantial representation to women in the upcoming elections, general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra said.

“Out of the total 125 candidates, 40 per cent are women and 40 per cent are youth. With this historic initiative, we hope to bring in a new kind of politics in the state,” she said at a virtual meeting.

There are 50 women candidates in the list, including the mother of the Unnao rape victim, said Vadra. “From Shahjahanpur, we have fielded Asha worker, Poonam Pandey who led an agitation for a raise in honorarium,” she added.

In the past few months, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra announced several women-centric promises including smartphones to Class 12 pass girls, electric scooters to graduating women, and skill development schools for women.

Vadra, who has been leading the Congress’ charge in poll-bound Uttar Pradesh, also released the party’s manifesto last month.

Congress has divided the manifesto into six sections: self-respect, self-reliance, education, empowerment, security and health.

The Congress party has been out of power in Uttar Pradesh for nearly three decades and Vadra has been desperately trying to change that. However, the task looks nearly impossible, with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) deploying all its resources and challengers Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) leaving no stone unturned.

After making the populist announcements, Congress also started direct interactions with women, bringing women’s issues into political focus. It has also made “Ladki hoon lad sakti hoon (I am a girl, I can fight)” a war cry for the upcoming polls after not being left with any strong base in the politics of caste and community. It also organised a few women’s marathon races under the “Ladki hoon lad Sakti hoon” campaign but suspended the campaign due to the rising number of coronavirus disease (Covid-19) cases.

Priyanka Gandhi has held numerous meetings of the coordination, election and campaign committees to understand the party’s position on the ground and strengthen its base.

Elections for the 403 assembly constituencies in Uttar Pradesh will be held in seven phases – on February 10, 14, 20, 23, 27 and March 3 and 7. The counting of votes will be done on March 10.

Previously, in the 2017 UP elections, the BJP bagged 312 seats while the SP bagged 47 seats, BSP won 19 and Congress could win only seven seats. The rest of the seats were bagged by other candidates. Congress had contested the 2017 polls in alliance with the SP.

More News

Hyderabad Become First Indian City To Host Formula E

Minister for MA&UD and Industries and Commerce KT Rama Rao on Monday entered into an agreement, with the Federation of Internationale de Automobile (FIA),...

Australia Open: Ashleigh Barty Beats Lesia Tsurenko In First Round

World number one Ashleigh Barty smashed Lesia Tsurenko 6-0 6-1 in just 54 minutes to reach the second round of the Australian Open. Home favourite...

World’s Top Ten Billionaires saw Wealth Double During Covid-19 Pandemic

The 10 richest men in the world have seen their global wealth double to $1.5 trillion since the start of the global pandemic following...


Bombay HC Rejects BJP MLA Nitesh Rane’s Anticipatory Bail Plea In Attempt To Murder Case

The Bombay High Court on Monday dismissed an anticipatory bail plea filed by Bharatiya Janata Party MLA Nitesh Rane, son of Union MSME Minister...

Punjab Assembly Election Postpones Due To Guru Ravidas Jayanti

The Election Commission of India on Monday announced to change the polling date for the Punjab Assembly election. As per the ECI, polling will...

Congress Is Hope For BJP, Not Goans: Arvind Kejriwal

In a dig at the Congress, Aam Aadmi Party National Convener Arvind Kejriwal on Monday, January 17, said that the Grand old Party is...