Previous   Next
HomeNationViolet Baruah Becomes Assam's First Women IGP

Violet Baruah Becomes Assam’s First Women IGP

Indian Police Services (IPS) officer Violet Baruah on Monday became the first-ever woman to get promoted to the rank of Inspector General in Assam Police.

In an official notification, the Home Department of Assam government promoted Baruah, who received the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service this year, to the rank of Inspector General of Police with effect from January 1, 2022.

The Assam Police’s seniormost woman IPS officer, who is currently posted as the Deputy Inspector General of Police (BTAD) in Kokrajhar district, will be in the ‘Super Time Scale-II of IPS’ of pay matrix, it added.

Expressing happiness over the development, Baruah said she has always taken up any challenge that came along in the job.

“I have never said no to any posting or task in my career. Rejecting a job has never been my style of functioning. That is why I was out of Guwahati (where state police headquarters is situated) for most of the period of my service.”

The senior police officer had also received the President’s Medal for Meritorious Service in 2012.

Baruah, who had joined the police force in 1992 as an Assam Police Services officer and got nominated to Indian Police Service (IPS) in 2004, opined that gender empowerment has been taking place everywhere, but the need of the hour is “gender mainstreaming”.

“It requires personal initiative also. I personally opted for a field job and I did not face any barrier in that. Nowadays many women have come forward to join the police, but I feel more should come,” she added.

The 59-year-old officer had served as the superintendent of police in four districts Morigaon, Goalpara, Cachar and Barpeta, besides working in the Crime Investigation Department (CID) wing of the Assam Police.

Along with Baruah, eight other DIGs of the state police were promoted to the rank of IG, the government notification said.

They are Anand Prakash Tiwari, Diganta Barah, Lachit Barua, Deboraj Upadhaya, Mridulananda Sarma, Dilip Kumar Dey, Prasanta Kumar Bhuyan and Nitul Gogoi, it added.

More News

Congress Yukt BJP, Says Shashi Tharoor After RPN Singh Leaves Party

Aday after Congress’s star campaigner for the Uttar Pradesh election, RPN Singh, joined the Bharatiya Janata Party, senior leader of the party and Lok...

It Doesn’t Matter If Someone Leaves Or Join Congress, Says Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot

Congress is a movement having a history of 135 years and some leaders leaving the party does not make any difference, Rajasthan Chief Minister...

NBA: Minnesota Timberwolves Beat Portland Trail Blazers 109-107

Anthony Edwards had 40 points and the Minnesota Timberwolves rallied in the fourth quarter to beat the Portland Trail Blazers 109-107 on Tuesday night. Karl-Anthony...


India Celebrates 73rd Republic Day, First Woman Rafale Fighter Jet Pilot Part of IAF Tableau

India is celebrating the 73rd Republic Day today as part of the Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav commemorating 75 years of independence. The Republic Day...

4 Injured In Srinagar Grenade Blast Ahead of Republic Day Celebration

A day ahead of Republic Day celebrations, terrorists on Tuesday threw a grenade, targetting security personnel in Srinagar and resulting in injuries to four...

New Zealand To Install 5,000 Air Cleaners For Schools To Prevent Covid

Education Minister Chris Hipkins on Tuesday announced 5,000 air cleaners have been ordered for New Zealand schools. "As we know, along with vaccination, testing, good...