Previous   Next
HomePoliticsFormer Punjab CM Amarinder Singh's party to contest polls in alliance with...

Former Punjab CM Amarinder Singh’s party to contest polls in alliance with BJP

Former Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, who recently launched his own political party ‘Punjab Lok Congress’ on Monday (December 6) announced that he will contest the upcoming Punjab Assembly Elections in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa’s party.

“In principle, a decision has been taken, now seat adjustment is to be done. We will also do seat adjustments with Dhindsa sahab’s party (SAD Sanyukt). I will tell both parties that we should pick winners, support those candidates,” ANI quoted Singh as saying during a press briefing today.

Expressing confidence that his party will form the government in the upcoming polls, Singh remarked, “Our aim is to win Punjab Assembly elections and we will.

The former Punjab CM also inaugurated his party headquarters in Chandigarh on Monday and announced that the membership drive to join the Punjab Lok Congress has already begun.

“A committee is also being formed in the district so that people can join the party,” he added.

Captain Amarinder Singh, who was a veteran Congress leader, resigned as Punjab CM earlier in September and quit the party following months of in-conflicts.

Punjab Lok Congress was founded by Amarinder Singh on 2 November 2021, following a split in Indian National Congress in Punjab, after he resigned as Chief Minister of Punjab and quit the Indian National Congress.

The party has indicated an intention to contest all 117 seats in the 2022 Punjab Legislative Assembly election. The party applied for registration with the Election Commission on 31 October.

More News

Uttarakhand Polls: Former CM Trivendra Singh Rawat Unwilling to Contest Upcoming Polls

BJP leader and former Uttarakhand Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat have announced that he is not willing to contest in the upcoming assembly election...

Smriti Mandhana Named In ICC Women’s T20I Team of The Year

India opener Smriti Mandhana on Wednesday was named in ICC Women’s T20I team of the year for 2021. The team of the year announcements...

Australian Open: Sania, Bopanna Lose In Women’s And Men’s Doubles Opener

Veteran Indian players Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna were eliminated in the opening round of the women's doubles and men's doubles, respectively, at the...


Amit Palekar Named AAP’s CM Candidate In Goa

Lawyer and social worker Amit Palekar is the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)'s chief ministerial candidate for Goa, party leader and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind...

BJP Releases List of Star Campaigners For Uttar Pradesh

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday announced the list of its 30 ‘Star Campaigners’ who will be highlighting work done under UP CM...

UP Deputy CM Slams Akhilesh Yadav Over Promise of Free Electricity

Calling Akhilesh Yadav an 'automatic machine of telling lies', Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya cornered the Samajwadi Party chief over his...