Previous   Next
HomePoliticsRJD Likely To Go Solo In Upcoming MLC Elections

RJD Likely To Go Solo In Upcoming MLC Elections

After the Bihar by-election, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Tejashwi Yadav is not interested to share seats with Congress for the upcoming Member of the Legislative Council (MLC) elections in the state.

The political parties in Bihar have started working on the equations with the alliance partners for the 24 seats of the MLC.

The Election Commission has cleared the deck after the Panchayat election which concluded on December 15.

According to a top RJD leader, Tejashwi Yadav knew that the “Congress party had lost its ground in Bihar”. He had gauged it by the party’s performance in the Bihar by-election.

Tejashwi Yadav has already sent the probable candidates to establish contacts with the elected members of the Panchayat and the urban local body, the RJD leader, requesting anonymity, said.

He said that the names of the candidates will be shortlisted by Tejashwi Yadav.

Out of 24, 13 MLCs of BJP, 8 of JDU, 2 of RJD and 1 of Congress party are currently incumbent.

“These MLCs were elected after the 2015 assembly election of Bihar. At that time, RJD, JD-U and Congress were part of the Mahagathbandhan in Bihar. Now, the JD-U has separated from Mahagathbandhan, hence RJD wants to contest on all 24 seats,” he said.

The Congress leaders on the other hand are waiting for an official statement from the RJD on this issue. The party leaders have already started claiming seats from the RJD.

“In Bihar, everyone knew the status of the Congress party. We are the single largest party in the state with 75 MLAs and we would not take pressure from any other political parties on this issue. We are capable of contesting the election on its own,” said Mritunjay Tiwari, national spokesperson of RJD.

Sources, however, said that Congress has an option to give tickets to the candidates chosen by Tejashwi Yadav.

For RJD, it would also be a challenge to satisfy the Left parties as well. They have 16 MLAs in Bihar Vidhan Sabha including 11 of CPI (ML), 3 of CPI (M) and two of CPI. Congress party has 19 MLAs in the Vidhan Sabha.

More News

Olympian Deepak Punia Wins Bronze In Asian Wrestling Championships 2022

Tokyo Olympian Deepak Punia won a bronze medal after defeating Maksat Satybaldy in the 86kg freestyle weight category at the U23 Asian wrestling championships...

Rajat Kapoor And Mallika Sherawat Starrer ‘RK/Rkay’ Is All Set To Release On July 22

Actor-filmmaker Rajat Kapoor’s upcoming film ‘RK/Rkay’ starring Mallika Sherawat and Kubbra Sait is all set to release on July 22. The film tells the tale...

Sensex Rises 433 Points, Nifty Settles At 15,832

The Benchmark indices ended higher for the third straight session on June 27 with Nifty above 15800 amid buying across the sectors. At close, the...


AIMIM, TRS Declare To Support Yashwant Sinha For Presidency Election

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) on Monday announced its support to opposition parties’ joint candidate Yashwant Sinha in the election for the President of...

Maha Crisis: SC Refuses To Pass Interim Order On Plea For No Floor Test In Assembly Till July 11

The Supreme Court on Monday refused to pass an interim order on the Maharashtra government counsel’s submissions that there should not be any floor...

Congress Protests In More Than 3500 Assembly Across Country Against ‘Agnipath Scheme’

Congress on Monday held nationwide Satyagraha in more than 3,500 Assembly headquarters across the country against the Agnipath scheme, the party said. Addressing a press...