Previous   Next
HomeSportsSAI Approves Extension of National Camp For 117 Athletes Till March

SAI Approves Extension of National Camp For 117 Athletes Till March

Sports Authority of India (SAI) has approved the extension of the national camp till March 31 for 117 track and field athletes and 45 coaching and support staff in five locations across the country in preparation for the Commonwealth Games and Asian Games to be held in Birmingham and Hangzhou later this year.

The national camps for 64 male and 53 female athletes are taking place at the Netaji Subhas National Institute of Sports (Patiala), Laxmibai National College of Physical Education (Thiruvananthapuram), SAI National Centre of Excellence (Bengaluru), Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (New Delhi) and Usha School of Athletics (Balusery).

At 17 years of age, World U20 Championships long jump silver medalist Shaili Singh is the youngest of the campers. Seema Punia, who won her World Junior Championships discus throw bronze medal in 2002 and has been on the podium in each of the last four Commonwealth Games, is the most experienced athlete among the campers.

Tokyo Olympic Games javelin throw gold medalist Neeraj Chopra is training in Chula Vista, United States, with coach Dr. Klaus Bartonietz.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More News

India Has Two Major Obstacles In Dealing With China: Jaishankar 

Speaking at the media summit, Mr. Jaishankar said asserted that India has two enormous handicaps in dealing with China including the defeat in the...

Assam CM’s Dig At Rahul Gandhi Says Rahul Gandhi Looks Like Saddam Hussain

Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma in his latest dig at Rahul Gandhi said that the Congress leader's looks have changed and he looks...

Nearly 75% Twitter Employees Layoffs In A Month, Will Elon Musk’s New Policy Be Able To Assure The Employees

After cutting nearly 75% workforce of Twitter in less than a month since the takeover, Elon Musk is now reported to have kept the...


England Win T20 World Cup Title, Beat Pakistan By 5 Wickets

England beat Pakistan by five wickets to win the Twenty20 World Cup on Sunday and become the sport's first dual white-ball champions, holding both...

T20 World Cup Semi-Finals: India Vs England Match Preview

India will battle it out with England in the second semi-final on Thursday (November 10) at the Adelaide Oval. India has hardly put a foot...

T20 World Cup Semi-Finals: Pakistan Reach In Final, Beat New Zealand By 7 Wickets

Pakistan's comprehensive seven-wicket win over New Zealand in Sydney. They chased down the 153-run target with five balls to spare. They will face the...