Previous   Next
HomeSportsMalvika Bansod And Mithun Manjunath Win Singles Titles In All India Senior...

Malvika Bansod And Mithun Manjunath Win Singles Titles In All India Senior Ranking Badminton

Malvika Bansod and Mithun Manjunath registered convincing straight games victories to clinch the women and men’s singles titles respectively while the mixed doubles combination of Rohan Kapoor and Sanjana Santosh bagged their second straight All India Senior Ranking Badminton Tournament crown on Thursday.

In the women’s singles final, Bansod upset top seed and last week’s senior ranking tournament winner Aakarshi Kashyap 21-15, 21-9 in 42 minutes while Mithun stopped former world junior No. 1 Aditya Jos’i’s run from the qualifying round 21-15, 21-4 in the men’s singles summit clash.

On a day when all the finals were decided in straight games, the wildcard combination of Kapoor and Sanjana were the only winners from the Chennai leg last week to finish on the top of the podium once again as they packed off Dhruv Rawat and Shikha Gautam 21-14, 21-13 in just 33 minutes to underline their overall development over the last year.

The women’s doubles title went to the make-shift combination of Simran Singhi and Khushi Gupta, who came together for this tournament after the ‘ormer’s regular partner Ritika Thaker was ruled out due to an injury.

Khushi and Simran defeated Telangana’s Vennala K and Shriyanshi Valishetty 21-16, 21-13 to clinch their first senior national title.

In the men’s doubles final, Kerala’s Ravikrishna PS and Sankarprasad Udayakumar made it to their second consecutive final after having to qualify for the main draw. But just like in Chennai, they failed to cross the final hurdle as the experienced combination of Krishna Prasad Gagara and Vishnuvardhan Goud P got the better of them 21-9, 21-12 in the last match of the day.

2012 Olympic medallist Saina Nehwal was present at the prize distribution as the champions received the overall prize money of 10 lac and the curtains were drawn in Hyderabad.


Men’s Singles: 8-Mithun M bt Aditya Josh’ 21-15, 21-4

Men’s Doubles: 3-Krishna Prasad G/Vishnuvardhan Goud P bt Ravikrishna PS/Sankarprasad Udayakumar’21-9, 21-12

Women’s singles: 2-Malvika Bansod bt 1-Aakarshi Kashya’ 21-15, 21-9

Women’s Doubles: 5-Khushi Gupta/Simran Singhi bt Vennala K/Shriyanshi Valishetty 21-16, 21-13

Mixed Doubles: Rohan Kapoor/Sanjana Santosh bt Dhruv Rawat/Shikha Gautam 21-14, 21-13.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More News

India Has Two Major Obstacles In Dealing With China: Jaishankar 

Speaking at the media summit, Mr. Jaishankar said asserted that India has two enormous handicaps in dealing with China including the defeat in the...

Assam CM’s Dig At Rahul Gandhi Says Rahul Gandhi Looks Like Saddam Hussain

Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma in his latest dig at Rahul Gandhi said that the Congress leader's looks have changed and he looks...

Nearly 75% Twitter Employees Layoffs In A Month, Will Elon Musk’s New Policy Be Able To Assure The Employees

After cutting nearly 75% workforce of Twitter in less than a month since the takeover, Elon Musk is now reported to have kept the...


England Win T20 World Cup Title, Beat Pakistan By 5 Wickets

England beat Pakistan by five wickets to win the Twenty20 World Cup on Sunday and become the sport's first dual white-ball champions, holding both...

T20 World Cup Semi-Finals: India Vs England Match Preview

India will battle it out with England in the second semi-final on Thursday (November 10) at the Adelaide Oval. India has hardly put a foot...

T20 World Cup Semi-Finals: Pakistan Reach In Final, Beat New Zealand By 7 Wickets

Pakistan's comprehensive seven-wicket win over New Zealand in Sydney. They chased down the 153-run target with five balls to spare. They will face the...