Previous   Next
HomePoliticsBJP CEC To Meet Next Week To Finalise More Assembly Polls Candidates

BJP CEC To Meet Next Week To Finalise More Assembly Polls Candidates

The BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC) will meet next week for the second time to finalise candidates for Goa, Punjab, Uttarakhand, and Uttar Pradesh.

In its first meeting on Thursday, the BJP CEC has finalised candidates for 172 Assembly seats of Uttar Pradesh where polling will be held in the first three phases.

Goa has already recommended shortlisted names to the party’s CEC for approval, and Uttarakhand will be sending shortlisted names in a day or two.

While several rounds of meetings for Uttar Pradesh have been held in Lucknow and in the national capital. On Thursday, the BJP CEC meeting to finalise candidates for Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls was held in hybrid mode as few of the CEC members, including party chief J.P. Nadda, have tested positive for Covid-19.

Sources said that the next meeting of the BJP CEC is likely to be held mid-next week to finalise more candidates of Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Punjab, and Uttarakhand.

“Depending on the health of CEC members, the decision to hold meetings physically or in the hybrid form will be decided,” a party leader said.

Before Thursday, a lot of discussion and deliberation took place in meetings chaired by Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Tuesday and Wednesday.

In Uttar Pradesh, the Assembly polls will be held in seven phases in February-March starting from February 10, while in Punjab, Goa, and Uttarakhand elections will be held on February 14, and in Manipur, it will also be in two phases – on February 27 and March 3.

The counting of votes will take place on March 10.

More News

Sensex Sinks 1,546 Points, Nifty Ends Below 17,200

The sell-off continued on the fifth session on January 24 with benchmark indices losing nearly 3 percent each. At close, the Sensex was down 1,545.67...

Smriti Mandhana Named ICC Women’s Cricketer of The Year For 2021

India opening batter Smriti Mandhana on Monday won the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year for 2021. Despite...

Joe Root Named Men’s Test Cricketer of The Year For 2021

England captain Joe Root, as expected, won the ICC Men's Test Cricketer of the Year Award for 2021 after beating the likes of Kyle...


President, Vice-President, PM Greet People of UP On Statehood Day

President Ram Nath Kovind, Vice-President M. Venkaiah Naidu and Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday greeted the people of Uttar Pradesh on their statehood...

PM Modi Virtually Interacts With Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar Recipients

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday virtually interacted with the winners of the Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar and awarded them certificates digitally using...

NCP Welcomes Shiv Sena At National Level To Fight BJP

A day after Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray said that Shiv Sena has wasted 25 years with BJP, the NCP, which is an alliance...