Previous   Next
HomeSportsTelangana Grandmaster Arjun Erigaisi Wins National Chess Championship

Telangana Grandmaster Arjun Erigaisi Wins National Chess Championship

Telangana Grandmaster Arjun Erigaisi became the National Chess Champion after signing the peace treaty with Sethuraman S P of PSPB in the eleventh and final round of the 58th Senior National Championship, here on Thursday.

Scoring 8.5 points out of a possible 11, Arjun tied for the title with Tamil Nadu Grandmasters duo D Gukesh and P Iniyan but better Buchholz tie break score helped Arjun to lift the champion trophy while Gukesh and Iniyan finished as first and second runner up respectively.

In the final round, Gukesh split the points with Delhi Grandmaster Aryan Chopra while Iniyan produced a decisive result against Mitrabha Guha of West Bengal.

While Arjun got richer by Rs 6 lakh, Gukesh got Rs 5 lakh and Iniyan took Rs 4 lakh from the total kitty of thirty lakh prize money.

In a closing ceremony, BCCI vice-president Rajiv Shukla gave away the trophies and prize money in presence of Dr Sanjay Kapoor, president All India Chess Federation, Vijay Kapoor, chairman Ganges Club, Naresh Sharma, treasurer All India Chess Federation, AK Raizada, secretary UP Chess Sports Association.


GM Sethuraman S P of PSPB (8) drew with GM Arjun Erigaisi of Telangana (8.5); GM Gukesh D of Tamil Nadu (8.5) drew with GM Aryan Chopra of Delhi (8); IM Pranav V of Tamil Nadu (8) drew with GM Visakh N R of Railways (8); GM Iniyan P of Tamil Nadu (8.5) beat GM Mitrabha Guha of West Bengal (7.5); GM Deep Sengupta of PSPB (7.5) drew with GM Aravindh Chithambaram of Tamil Nadu (8); GM Karthikeyan Murali of PSPB (8) beat IM Aditya Mittal of Maharashtra (7); IM Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh (7.5) drew with GM Harsha Bharathakoti of Telangana (7.5); GM Lalith Babu M R of PSPB (6.5) lost to IM Koustav Chatterjee of West Bengal (8); GM Adhiban B (7) drew with IM Himal Gusain of Railways (7); IM Ratnakaran K of Railways (6.5) lost to GM Abhijeet Gupta of PSPB (7.5); IM Pranesh M of Tamil Nadu (6.5) lost to GM Swapnil Dhopade of Railways (7.5); IM Aronyak Ghosh of West Bengal (7) drew with IM Shyaamnikhil P of Railways (7); IM Ravi Teja of Railways (7) drew with GM Sriram Jha of LIC (7); IM Shahil Dey of Assam (7.5) beat IM Krishna CRG of Railways (6.5); Sambit Panda of Odisha (6.5) lost to IM Sayantan Das of Railways (7.5).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More News

India Has Two Major Obstacles In Dealing With China: Jaishankar 

Speaking at the media summit, Mr. Jaishankar said asserted that India has two enormous handicaps in dealing with China including the defeat in the...

Assam CM’s Dig At Rahul Gandhi Says Rahul Gandhi Looks Like Saddam Hussain

Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma in his latest dig at Rahul Gandhi said that the Congress leader's looks have changed and he looks...

Nearly 75% Twitter Employees Layoffs In A Month, Will Elon Musk’s New Policy Be Able To Assure The Employees

After cutting nearly 75% workforce of Twitter in less than a month since the takeover, Elon Musk is now reported to have kept the...


England Win T20 World Cup Title, Beat Pakistan By 5 Wickets

England beat Pakistan by five wickets to win the Twenty20 World Cup on Sunday and become the sport's first dual white-ball champions, holding both...

T20 World Cup Semi-Finals: India Vs England Match Preview

India will battle it out with England in the second semi-final on Thursday (November 10) at the Adelaide Oval. India has hardly put a foot...

T20 World Cup Semi-Finals: Pakistan Reach In Final, Beat New Zealand By 7 Wickets

Pakistan's comprehensive seven-wicket win over New Zealand in Sydney. They chased down the 153-run target with five balls to spare. They will face the...