Previous   Next
HomePoliticsBJP's ‘Chakka Jam’ Against AAP Government's New Excise Policy

BJP’s ‘Chakka Jam’ Against AAP Government’s New Excise Policy

The Delhi Police on Monday detained Bharatiya Janata Party’s Delhi unit chief Adesh Gupta as scores of party leaders and workers staged a ‘chakka jam’ protest against the Arvind Kejriwal government’s new excise policy. Adesh Gupta was taken into preventive custody from the protest site near the Akshardham temple in East Delhi.

The ‘chakka jam’ protest by the BJP has caused traffic congestion at different locations in the national capital, including near the Akshardham temple. People had to face heavy traffic due to the protest near the Akshardham temple.

“The Delhi government is opening liquor shops illegally across the city under its new excise policy. Shops are being opened near residential and religious places. Our protest will continue until the new liquor policy is rolled back,” Gupta told reporters.

Asked about the commuters facing trouble due to the protest, Gupta claimed that it is a public movement and that people are ready to bear with it in order to get rid of the new excise policy of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) government.

Other locations where the “chakka jam” protest is being conducted include the Car Bazar at Vikas Marg, Dayaram Chowk and Civil Lines.

The protesters raised slogans against the city government and its new excise policy. They also made repeated announcements that all emergency vehicles should be given way and no harm should be caused to public property.

More News

Sensex Sinks 1,546 Points, Nifty Ends Below 17,200

The sell-off continued on the fifth session on January 24 with benchmark indices losing nearly 3 percent each. At close, the Sensex was down 1,545.67...

Smriti Mandhana Named ICC Women’s Cricketer of The Year For 2021

India opening batter Smriti Mandhana on Monday won the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year for 2021. Despite...

Joe Root Named Men’s Test Cricketer of The Year For 2021

England captain Joe Root, as expected, won the ICC Men's Test Cricketer of the Year Award for 2021 after beating the likes of Kyle...


President, Vice-President, PM Greet People of UP On Statehood Day

President Ram Nath Kovind, Vice-President M. Venkaiah Naidu and Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday greeted the people of Uttar Pradesh on their statehood...

PM Modi Virtually Interacts With Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar Recipients

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday virtually interacted with the winners of the Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar and awarded them certificates digitally using...

NCP Welcomes Shiv Sena At National Level To Fight BJP

A day after Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray said that Shiv Sena has wasted 25 years with BJP, the NCP, which is an alliance...